Linked by Thom Holwerda on Mon 6th Aug 2012 13:16 UTC
Mac OS X How this passed through Apple's Mountain Lion testing is beyond me. "If one edits a document, then chooses Save As, then BOTH the edited original document and the copy are saved, thus not only saving a new copy, but silently saving the original with the same changes, thus overwriting the original." Just goes to show: do not mess with my ability to save my stuff. There is no one-size-fits-all for this kind of delicate stuff.
Thread beginning with comment 529881
To view parent comment, click here.
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE: Or...
by Tony Swash on Mon 6th Aug 2012 13:53 UTC in reply to "Or..."
Tony Swash
Member since:
2009-08-22

Being a bit conservative having accumulated lots of set habits over decades on computers I never took to the Duplicate function, although I understand why it might be a clearer way to do things to new users, so I used the technique shown here

http://www.tuaw.com/2012/07/29/get-save-as-back-on-mountain-lions-f...

to permanently replace the Duplicate menu item with a 'Save As...'

So this bug is a bummer, let's hope they get if fixed in 10.8.1

Reply Parent Score: 2