Linked by Thom Holwerda on Mon 6th Aug 2012 13:16 UTC
Mac OS X How this passed through Apple's Mountain Lion testing is beyond me. "If one edits a document, then chooses Save As, then BOTH the edited original document and the copy are saved, thus not only saving a new copy, but silently saving the original with the same changes, thus overwriting the original." Just goes to show: do not mess with my ability to save my stuff. There is no one-size-fits-all for this kind of delicate stuff.
Thread beginning with comment 529872
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
You need to use duplicate instead
by someone on Mon 6th Aug 2012 13:32 UTC
someone
Member since:
2006-01-12

I was always under the impression that Save As is just an alias for the Duplicate command introduced in Lion, but I guess that's not the case. In any case, Duplicate does inherit the Cmd+Shift+S shortcut from Save As. Honestly, I think the best course of action for Apple is for them to rename the new Save As command to something else, so that people are not confused.

Edited 2012-08-06 13:34 UTC

Reply Score: 2

CapEnt Member since:
2005-12-18

It's not a bug, it's a feature!

Reply Parent Score: 10

puenktchen Member since:
2007-07-27

actually it is. and there is no data loss either. complete non story. the real story: how people have problems understanding the concept of automatic versioning and let go their behavior of saving everything in multiple copies.

from my own experience, overwriting the old version with the new one because you thought you already did a "save as" or did "save as" but actually where just did "save" is by far the most common way to lose your data. apple fixed that for you. to complain about that and even write something about "data loss" is just stupid.

Reply Parent Score: 2