Linked by Thom Holwerda on Thu 5th Jul 2012 21:21 UTC
Windows Microsoft is continuing its efforts to simplify its product lines, and has cut the number of versions for the next release of Windows Server down from twelve to just four: Datacenter, Standard, Essentials, and Foundation. Pretty straightforward. Windows Home Server gets axed, but then again, I don't think anybody bought Windows Home Servers anyway.
Thread beginning with comment 525560
To view parent comment, click here.
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
Member since:

For a web application that does its own authentication and does not call Active Directory, you do not need to buy any CALs at all.

IIS is considered to be a "specialty application," for which CALs are not necessary.

Windows Web Server never required CALs, either. CALs are really for Windows services -- file sharing, printer sharing, remote desktop, Active Directory, etc.

Edited 2012-07-06 05:02 UTC

Reply Parent Score: 2